top of page

Recent Posts


30 Montgomery High School Students Named National Merit Scholar Semifinalists

By Barbara A. Preston l September 14, 2021

The National Merit Scholarship Corporation announced the names of 30 Montgomery High School semifinalists in the 67th annual National Merit Scholarship Program.

The nationwide pool of semifinalists, represent less than one percent of U.S. high school seniors, and include the highest-scoring entrants in each state.

The program honors individual students who show exceptional academic ability and potential for success in rigorous college studies.

Montgomery High School

High school juniors entered the 2022 National Merit Scholarship Program by taking the 2020 Preliminary SAT (PSAT), which served as an initial screen of program entrants. About 95 percent of semifinalists become finalists, according to program officials. Semifinalist and a high school official must submit a detailed scholarship application, in which they provide information about the semifinalist’s academic record, participation in school and community activities, demonstrated leadership abilities, employment, and honors and awards received. A semifinalist must have an outstanding academic record throughout high school, be endorsed and recommended by a high school official, write an essay, and earn SAT or ACT scores that confirm the student’s earlier performance on the qualifying test.

Congratulations to these Montgomery High School students for earning achievement as National Merit Scholarship semifinalists — placing them in the top one percent of U.S. high school seniors.


Abhay Benoy

Bonnie S. Chen

Lilly C. Das

Stefan Elez

Meghan N. Gajula

Aarush Gupta,

Yizhou Hong

William A. Hou

Ashley E. Kim

Rithvik Kommareddy

Thomas J. Lee

Eric Y. Li

Madison Li

Sean Liu

Ethan T. Mathew

Zain I. Mughal

Sami Muhammad

Harsh Panchal

Ian D. Purkis

Royce Sun

Shrivatsa Thakur

Neha Vardhaman

Siddharth V. Vecham

Sanjana S. Venkatesh

Andrew B. Wan

Annabelle Wang (Intern for The Montgomery News)

Aaron Xi

Andy Xin

Hedy H. Yang

Melanie Y. Zhang (Intern for The Montgomery News)

This article is sponsored by:


bottom of page