top of page

Montgomery Township Committee 2020 Candidates

Two candidates are running for one seat on Montgomery Township Committee — which consists of a mayor and four members.

Shelly L. Bell, will run as the Democrat candidate for Montgomery Township Committee in the November 3 election. 

A political newcomer, Hossein Zolfaghari, will appear on the ballot as an Independent candidate. Republicans did not field a candidate.

Jeffrey Grant, a Conservative Republican from Belle Mead, had staged a last-minute effort to appear on the ballot, but he did not receive enough votes in the July 7 primary election. He needed 30 write-in votes, but only earned 26.

The elected candidate will serve a three-year term beginning in January.


Township Committee re-organizes annually during the first week in January, at which time it shall elect a mayor and a deputy from among its members. The mayor presides at meetings. In the absence or disability of the mayor, the deputy mayor acts as mayor.■

bottom of page